Kodai-ji Temple

1/5

長年の経験から、ほかの品種では溶けてしまうため、青森産のふじを採用。 撮影/伊藤信、文/婦人画報編集部

Temple dedicated to eternal love for the husband

After her husband, Hideyoshi Toyotomi, passed away, Nene, also known as Kitano Mandokoro, established this temple in 1606 to commemorate Hideyoshi’s spirit.  Later, the head priest of Kennin-ji Temple was welcomed to become the head priest in 1624.  This Zen temple worships the statue of Shaka Nyorai as the main deity.  There is a tea ceremony room in the precinct that is said to have been moved from Fushimi Castle.  Nene succeeded to establish this grand temple with considerable financial support from Ieyasu Tokugawa, the first Tokugawa shogun.  Thanks to the support, the temple was able to add gorgeous decorations throughout.  One of the highlights of this temple is its “Dragon Corridor” which is designated as the Important Cultural Property from the Momoyama period (16th century).  Long stairs are set on the slope of the mountain and roof tiles above the stairs look like the back of a dragon.  The corridor connects Kaizan-do Hall where the spirit of the first head priest is enshrined and Tamaya Hall where the spirits of Hideyoshi and Nene are placed.  Inside Tamaya Hall is decorated with fascinating mother-of-pearl inlay, known as Kodaiji Makie.

INFORMATION

Name Kodai-ji Temple
Address 526 Kodaiji Shimogawara-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto
Tel 075–561-9966
Hours 9:00-17:30 *Enter by 30 min. before the closing time.
Closed
Resevation
URL
Recommended Entry: 600 yen (including the Sho Museum); Combination ticket for 3 places (Kodai-ji Temple, Sho Museum and Entoku-in Temple): 900 yen
AREA:
  • CENTRAL AREA
  • MAP

    Find Nearby Spots 食べる・飲む: FOOD 泊まる: STAY 買う: BUY 観る・体験する: VIEW

    Translation to English by AD BRAIN INC. ,
    Fujin-gaho,December issue,2013