Heian Jingu Shrine
Shrine guarded by Feng-shui; a world just like a picture scroll of Heian
Heian Jingu Shrine was built in 1895 for the 1,100th anniversary of the relocation of the capital city to Heiankyo. It enshrines Emperor Kanmu, the emperor from the period of the capital relocation and Emperor Komei, the last emperor of Heian-kyo. The great vermilion torii stands on Jingu-michi road and Daigoku-den Palace which was reproduced on a scale of five-eighth of the actual Heian-kyo (ancient Kyoto), which is just like the gorgeous picture scrolls of ancient Heian period. It was built based on Feng-shui theory, which is guarded by four deities; Genbu (god of water), Seiryu (blue dragon), Suzaku (red Chinese phoenix) and Byakko (white tiger), are drawn on the walls of north, east, south and west respectively. Shin-en Garden with approximately33,000 square meters, spreading around the sanctuary, is a stroll-style garden with a large pond which was constructed by the 7th generation, Jihei Ogawa. Beautiful seasonal flowers on weeping cherry trees also irises and water lilies are can be seen at this shrine. The Jidai Matsuri Festival is one of the three major festivals in Kyoto, which is hosted by Heian Jingu Shrine. This festival started in the same year the shrine was built, citizens who parade in the festival impersonate historical figures who used to take an active role in ancient Kyoto. The festival attracts a large audience every year.
|Name||Heian Jingu Shrine|
|Address||Okazaki Nishi Tenno-cho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto|
|Hours||Entry: (gate open): 6:00-18:00 (seasonally changed)|
|Recommended||In early June, a poetic early summer traditional performance of Takigi Noh theatre play (open-air) will be held.|
- EAST AREA
Translation to English by AD BRAIN INC.